Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more

Chiesetta dei Morti Church

Villandro (Villanders)
Add to watchlist

Chiesetta dei Morti Church

Villandro (Villanders)

For information on data protection at sentres, consult here

Thank you for your request

There are other accommodations in the vicinity that may fit your needs. Would you like to send a non-binding request to these accommodations too?

  • The art historically significant church of St. Valentin in Astfeld
    Churches & Abbeys

    St Valentin in Astfeld

    Sarentino (Sarntal)
  • Three Gothic churches: St. Nicholas, St. Gertraud, St. Magdalena
    Churches & Abbeys


    Barbiano (Barbian)
  • The parish church of Vipiteno Our Lady of the Moss
    Churches & Abbeys

    "Unsere liebe Frau im Moos"

    Vipiteno (Sterzing)
  • The Leaning Tower of Barbian.
    Churches & Abbeys

    Barbian church

    Barbiano (Barbian)
  • The parish church of St. Nicholas in Albion is in a particularly original village setting
    Churches & Abbeys

    St Nikolaus in Albions

    Laion (Lajen)
  • The Church of St. Magdalena in Ridnaun is situated on a hill with a magnificent view
    Churches & Abbeys

    St Magdalena church in Ridnaun

    Racines (Ratschings)
No, thanks

Informationen zu Chiesetta dei Morti Church

The church was probably built by some pages who lived in this mountain area at the time. Up to the XVI century a mine was operational on the side facing the Sarentino valley. The position of the church requires frequent restoration cycles to the building. A special mention is to be given to the Crucifixion group that has survived inside the church.  Both on the side of the Alp of Villandro and on that of the Sarentino valley the Stations of the Cross lead to a place of pilgrimage. 

History has it that some inhabitants of Villandro found shelter in the Chiesetta dei Morti ("Am Toten") to escape plague. The chapel is located on the upland of the Alp of Villandro at the crossing of the valleys Valle Isarco and Val Sarentino.